Stuffie Takeover Week

Foodie Friday – Aesthetic Food Photography {Stuffie Takeover #2}

IMG_6550

Hi guys! Welcome to Foodie Friday, the fifth day of Stuffie Takeover Week! Stuffie Takeover week occurs the first week of every month, where instead of our owners making posts about us, we have a chance to write posts and manage the blog ourselves. 🙂

I’m Huggies, the chef of the family. And in case you didn’t know, I absolutely LOVEEEE aesthetic food photography. After all, I run a food blog and Instagram myself!

So yeah. I rave about aesthetic food photography a lot. So when people get annoyed, usually the first question they ask me is this: what do you even mean??

IMG_6551

Well, I’ll tell ‘ya what I mean! 😛 In this Foodie Friday post, I’ll be sharing the points that makes a photograph of food go over the top for me. And the best part: I’LL BE PUTTING IN SOME SUPER AESTHETIC ONES ALONG THE WAY. NOW IS THAT AWESOME OR SOMETHING.

And please ignore my pickyness. LIKE I SAID I’M A FOOD BLOGGER OKAY???

And I like ranting in all caps.


1. clarity

 

credits from left to right: almond butter chocolate chip cookies, best ever chicken fajita bowls, mexican street corn burrito bowls

Well. Needless to say, if a photo is blurry, I will 1) scream, 2) click away as fast as possible! And by that I mean I honestly mean AS FAST AS POSSIBLE.

A clear photo = a one I like. A clear photo is sharp and exact — what comes of holding the camera steady. Above are a few examples of photos with clarity. Is your mouth not watering already?

But seriously. This is probably one of the most important points to me. If a photo is not clear, it is not aesthetic.

2. lighting

 

credits from left to right: frozen mint lemonade, chocolate dragon bars, healthy turkey sloppy joes

Well, according to Dictionary.com, lighting means “the act of igniting or illuminating.” However, to me, it means the type of light in which the photo was shot. Clean, white light, or aesthetic dark light, and/or natural light makes me want to hug the photo, while yellowish/reddish/too dark light makes me want to scream.

3. background

 

credits from left to right: vegan chocolate ice cream, strawberry frozen yogurt pie, sriracha tuna salad wraps

GUYS. GUYS. Background is EVERYTHING.

Honestly, it is!!

No matter what the style of the photographer (there are a ton! white, dark, marble, fabric, colorful, etc.), there is one thing that ties good food backgrounds together: AESTHETICNESS.

The background really makes it! Some examples of aesthetic backgrounds are solid-color (photo #1), white marble (photo #2), and garage floors (yes I am serious — photo #3).

4. props

 

credits from left to right: peaches and cream muffins, korean japchae, and dairy free almond joy ice cream sundae

Props are an absolute must have! Because who wants just a photo with…with the food in it?

Instead, I like food photography that has the ingredients, things you would eat the food with, multiple dishes of the same food, or some other cool prop in the photo. For example, repetition (multiple muffins) in photo #1, a cloth/mugs/chopsticks in photo #2, and a scattering of ingredients in photo #3.

4. appetize-ness

 

 

credits from left to right: everyday chocolate chip cookies, broccolini almond pizza, and no churn raspberry ripple ice cream

Yes, appetize-ness is totally a word 😂😂😂😂😂

This one explains itself. If it’s a food I dislike, even if the picture is amazing, I’ll be like bleh. If it doesn’t look like something I’d eat out of my laptop, I’ll be like bleh. And if it just doesn’t look good, I’ll be like bleh, too.

BUT IF IT’S ONE OF MY FAVORITE FOODS IN THE WORLD AND IT’S JUST AMAZING (e.g. dripping with chocolate or melting into goodness) AND IT JUST LOOKS SOOO GOOD, YOU WILL BE SURE I WILL DROOL ALL OVER MY LAPTOP SCREEN.

See the pictures above. Oh my goodness oh my goodness oh my goodness.


So I hope you enjoyed that short little rant! If you did, leave me a comment below so I can deem you cool. 😎 😎 Till next time!

Do you like aesthetic food photography?

PhotoFunia-1489160624

23 thoughts on “Foodie Friday – Aesthetic Food Photography {Stuffie Takeover #2}

  1. Oh. Man. That. Cookay. I need it. Now.
    You are totally right about everything, Huggies. I’ve seen photos where I’m like, “That doesn’t look good,” and they really turn me off recipes which I’m sure are pretty decent.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes. I. Know. *rummages through the cookie jar but none of them look as good as the one in the photo*
      And YESS!!! There are SO many good recipes I’ve ignored just because the photos weren’t that good. Sigh. 😀
      ~Huggies

      Liked by 1 person

  2. These were such good tips!! I’m going to San Francisco next week and plan on doing some photography! 😝✌️
    xoxo-Brooke Jade

    Liked by 1 person

Leave A Comment

