Crafts · Stuffie Takeover Week

Make-It-Yourself Monday {Stuffie Takeover #1 Day 1}

Hello, readers! Welcome to the first day of the first ever Stuffie Takeover Week!!!  Today is Make-It-Yourself Monday, hosted by me, Mimsy! Stuffie Takeover Week is the first week of every month, in which instead of our owners making posts featuring us, we will have a chance to make the posts and manage the blog ourselves! 

Today I’m going to show you how to make your own DIY Watercolor Monogram Letter!

You will need:

  • A sheet of thin cardboard
  • Scissors
  • White paper
  • Tape
  • A gluestick
  • Watercolors
  • Paint brush
  • Water (to mix with the watercolors), scratch paper (to test out colors), and paper towels (for cleaning brushes)

(btw, my bff Cherry offered to help me out by taking the pictures, so the pictures you see are all taken by her! Thanks so much, Cherry!!)

Alright, is everybody ready? Then let’s get started!

In this post, I’m going to be making my own 3D monogram letter! You could of course buy one of those wooden letters at a crafts store, but I really wanted to make mine myself.

IMG_5104

To make the letter, you are going to need a large piece of thin cardboard. This box I found worked perfectly!

IMG_5108

First, you have to draw out your letter on the sheet of cardboard (mine was an M, the first letter of my name!)

IMG_5113

Then, cut it out, and using it to trace on the cardboard, make another one! You should end up with two identical letters.

IMG_5114IMG_5115

Now, before you begin to build the letter, trace and cut out two letters on a clean, white sheet of paper. You are going to need these later.

To make the monogram letter, you first need to cut out a long, thin strip of cardboard, and then cut the strip into pieces that are the length of the sides of the letter. Using the strips of cardboard, join together the two cardboard letters by taping the piece to the sides of each letter.

This step is rather hard to explain in words, so here are some pictures for you to look at!

This part is definitely the hardest part of the whole process, but the end result is TOTALLY worth it!!

IMG_5132

Here’s a picture of me with my beautiful M!

IMG_5138IMG_5139

Now, you can glue on the two letters you cut out from the white piece of paper. If you want to make it extra neat, you can also cover all of the sides of your letter with white paper, which is what I did.

It’s finally time for my favorite part: PAINTING!!

IMG_5145

Set out all of the paints you are going to use, a few paintbrushes, a small container of water, paper towels, and some scratch paper.

IMG_5154

Before painting your letter, you are first going to want to mix your colors and test them on a piece of scratch paper until they are the perfect shade. You could of course use any color(s) you like. I chose to paint my letter with a light pink and a bright yellow. I just love those two colors! Don’t you?

Now, you can start to paint your letter! I decided to do a cool ombre effect with the colors.

IMG_5182

After painting your letter, you can add on any decorations you want! I put gold glitter on mine; it made it look so much prettier!

And voila! Here is the finished DIY!

IMG_5205

I love my monogram letter! It just looks so pretty sitting on my desk! I hope you’ll try this craft too, and if you do, I would love if you could send a picture of it through the Contact page!

Okay, that’s all for now! Be sure to tune in tomorrow for another Stuffie Takeover Week post!

Love,

PhotoFunia-1496689833

 

 

11 thoughts on “Make-It-Yourself Monday {Stuffie Takeover #1 Day 1}

Leave A Comment

