Holidays · Photostories

The Leprechaun Trap ~A Photostory~

Polby and Huggies were having a nice and quiet time reading together.

IMG_0159

“Hey, I almost forgot! It’s Saint Patrick’s Day!” cried Polby suddenly, turning toward Huggies. 

IMG_0163

“Really? Saint Paddy’s?” Huggies eyes shot up. “I can’t believe I forgot! What shall we do?”

IMG_0161

“Hmm, let’s see,” Polby mused. “Oh, I know! Why don’t we build a leprechaun trap?”

IMG_0168

“Seriously?” Huggies rolled his eyes. “There’s no such thing as leprechauns; why bother?”

IMG_0173

“I know, I know, but it would be fun designing a trap. And who knows, if we got a cousin or two in there, we could even hold them ransom!”

IMG_0171

Huggies just rolled his eyes. “Okay,” he relented. “Shall we build it?”

Five minutes later…

IMG_0198

“This looks like it would work! See, they come here to check these pennies out, and then you blockade them with this whatever-it-is that I’m sitting on,” Huggies declared, looking over his finished product. “Isn’t it a good idea?”

IMG_0183

“It’s an idea, all right, but I wouldn’t call it a good one,” Polby scoffed. “How are you supposed to blockade them from getting out without them noticing five seconds in?”

“And I suppose you have a better idea?” Huggies retorted.

IMG_0212

“Yes, in fact, I do,” Polby asserted. “You could just set a pile of pennies on the floor…” He demonstrated.

IMG_0214

“And hide here, you see…”

IMG_0219

“And then, when somebody comes, you can help me plop this on them.”

IMG_0224

“That’s a bad idea too,” Huggies sniffed. “You wouldn’t even need the pennies for that; besides, it’s too boring. And then you’d need to be lying there doing nothing the whole time while you wait for the leprechaun.”

“It’s a better idea than–”

“Hold up,” Huggies cut him off. “I just thought of an idea much better than either of us’s.”

“What is it?” Polby questioned.

……

IMG_0238

“That is a good idea.”

IMG_0239

“I just hope it will work,” Huggies echoed, looking over the well-designed trap. The top of the box was scattered with pennies and little shamrock decorations. 

“Well, I guess we’ll just have to wait for leprechauns to come!”

The two departed.

……

IMG_0260

Truffle (Dwuff) McFluffy was just going to get a good book to read when he spotted the box. 

“Ooh, free pennies!” Dwuff hurriedly climbed up. “Hiya, world, look out! I’m about to become the next millionaire!”

IMG_0265

OOMPH!

IMG_0268

“We got a leprechaun,” Huggies mused, walking leisurely towards the sound with a malicious playful grin plastered on his face. “You did think that false top was stable, didn’t you?”

“You could say that,” Dwuff responded with a chuckle. “What is this, early April Fools?”

“Have you forgotten what day today is?”

“Until now, yes. Oh, bother. I don’t have green on. OH WAIT! YOU DON’T EITHER!” 

IMG_0270.JPG

“That’s not a problem for either of us; I just need to know where your stash of gold is.”

“You mean my treasure box? I don’t have any, I’m not a pack rat like you.”

“All leprechauns must have one,” Huggies reinforced.

“I don’t know what in the world you are talking about. At which time in the entire existence of the earth did I become a leprechaun?”

IMG_0273

“Why, then would you get stuck in the leprechaun trap? It’s only for leprechauns, right?”

“Not exactly…and I didn’t get stuck. I could literally just move my foot if I wanted to get out.” Dwuff chuckled.

Huggies seemed to not have heard anything of what he said. “Well, then you’ll be staying here until you’re ransomed. Your ransom price is–”

IMG_0276

“FLYING BALONEY!” Dwuff suddenly shrieked, pointing.

“What? Where?” Huggies whirled around.

IMG_0278

As he did so, Dwuff nimbly climbed out of the box and made his escape.

IMG_0280

“I don’t see anything…hey, where did the leprechaun go?”

.…

Twenty minutes later, Huggies had forgotten all about the incident and was wonderfully absorbed into a book.

IMG_0289

Perhaps too absorbed.

IMG_0293.JPG

“Early April Fools!”

4 thoughts on “The Leprechaun Trap ~A Photostory~

Leave A Comment

